Directory & Faculty Profiles

Susanne Beier, PhD, LPC

Hello from northeastern Pennsylvania (the "Northern Pocono's"). Let me tell you a little about myself. I was born and raised in Germany (Bavaria) and immigrated to the US with my mother and step-dad when I was 13. I knew how to say, "Thank you" and "Good Night," and that pretty much all of my English I knew at the time :-) It was an adventure !!! I've lived in Washington State (Tacoma area) and New Jersey (“Central Jersey” near the “City”—New York City, that is :-), prior to moving to Pennsylvania. I am fluent in both German and English and find it kind of fun to switch languages back and forth :) I have taught at UOP for 10 years, (undergraduate, graduate and doctoral level courses). I have been a Dissertation Mentor for 7 years and have seen several learners become “Doctor.” In fact, I had three graduates this year !!. I also sit on the Ethics Committee. I joined the School of Advanced Studies as a Full Time Development Faculty 10 years ago… wow.. how time flies!! In that capacity, I assist faculty with classroom management and SAS policy questions and concerns. Prior to that, I had an active counseling practice for 20+ years in which we consulted to educational and corporate clients (Fortune 500 companies). I've been a Teacher's Aide, Special Education teacher, school principal and corporate manager. It's been an interesting experience and I found that I really love teaching. I was also featured in NEW WOMAN, Working Woman, SELF and Cosmopolitan magazines for my work with corporate relocation clients. I earned my PhD in Human Services, Walden University and have a Master's Degree in Counseling/Psychology from Rutgers University, N.J. My Bachelor Degree is in Social Sciences from Thomas Edison State College, NJ. I am a Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) in Pennsylvania and New Jersey. I am also a Diplomate-Disability Analyst and Diplomate Forensic Counselor. In addition I am a Nationally Certified Counselor (NCC) and Master Career Counselor (MCC). On a personal note: My two children are all grown up and have families of their own. I have eight grandchildren. They range in ages from 22 to 7 years old. Christmas gets and birthdays get to be pretty expensive !!! My “children” that still live with me, are my two puppies, “Fritzi” and "Sabel." And there is also my cat “Snowball.” I chose him (the cat) form the shelter four years ago. They have agreed among themselves that Snowball the cat is in charge. :-) I also love traveling and I enjoy painting (oil, oil pastels).

Scholarship & Research

Additional content will be provided upon request.

Full-time Faculty
Dissertation Chair
Committee Member
Primary College or School: 
School of Advanced Studies