Presenters and Guests: Preparing to Engage With the Shindig Interactive Video Chat and Events Platform

Presenters and Guests: Preparing to Engage With the Shindig Interactive Video Chat and Events Platform

The Shindig Interactive Video Chat and Events Platform has been selected to power the 2018 Knowledge Without Boundaries Research Summit. Shindig's unique technology offers the dynamics and interactions of an in-person workshop, class, or event at internet scale. Shindig works with many higher education institutions and organizations to increase engagement and build stronger connections with applicants, students, guest lecturers, and faculty across town, across the country, and around the world.

 
To give you a snapshot of Shindig: 
  • Multi-tier interactivity and two-way communication between presenter(s) and attendee(s) as well as between attendees, including sharing rich and static media.
  • Each session can accommodate up to 1,000 active attendees and offers exclusive social media streaming integration to reach any size audience. Simultaneously stream to Facebook Live on multiple pages and on youTube
  • Browser-based, no software to download
  • Runs on WebRTC, not Flash
  • Student/Audience engagement analytics
  • Customized branding
In order to have the best experience with the Shindig Interactive Video Chat and Events Platform, we have supplied you a resource titled, "Preparing to Engage With the Shindig Interactive Video Chat and Events Platform." It is recommended that you review this guide prior to your attendance at the KWB 2018 Research Summit. Individual sections of this guide can be accessed below as needed. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Prepared by Dr. David E. Proudfoot, Center and Dr. Medgar Roberts, for Educational and Instructional Technology Research
 

Presenter and KWB Helper Training

Four sessions are offered to provide specific training for KWB presenter and helpers. Attendees may sign up for a session by completing the training registration form. 

The training sessions will be offered at specific times:

  • Thursday, 8/9/18 at 8:00 am to 9:00 am AZ time (8-9 am PDT, 10-11 am CDT, and 11-12 pm EDT)
  • Friday, 8/10/18 at 8:00 am to 9:00 am AZ time (8-9 am PDT, 10-11 am CDT, and 11-12 pm EDT)
  • Saturday, 8/11/18 at 8:00 am to 9:00 am AZ time (8-9 am PDT, 10-11 am CDT, and 11-12 pm EDT)
  • Saturday, 8/11/18 at 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm AZ time (4-5 pm PDT, 6-7 pm CDT, and 7-8 pm EDT)

Each training session will serve two purposes: (1) To provide presenters and helpers with information on how you can conduct your presentation on the Shindig Interactive Video Chat platform, and (2) to make sure that your technology is set up properly in order to present on Shindig (conduct a technology check). 

Presenter Information

Any presentations that contain a slide show does not have to be uploaded to the event room ahead of the presentation. Instead, presenters will share their screen on stage and go through the slide show at their own pace and broadcast the slide show through screen share.

 

A template for presentations is available for use. Please download the file below titled, "master_template."