Events

DTP Testimonials

We are excited to share the reflections of some of the participants of Dissertation to Publication (DTP) workshop during fall of 2020. These doctoral alumni recently completed their doctoral dissertations and attended DTP workshop to turn their dissertations to publishable manuscripts. The participants were able to successfully complete their dissertations, prepare their manuscripts, and submit them to peer-reviewed journals within a few months. Interestingly, the participants accomplish these successes during COVID-19 pandemic. Congratulations to the participants.  

Below please review the reflections of some of DTP participants.      

 

Betzaida Arroyo, DM (Doctoral of Organizational Management), Graduated on July 2020, Submitted the article to a peer reviewed journal on Dec 2, 2020

I’m truly appreciative that this program exists. It is my understanding that it’s the only program like this! So, Kudos to the University and the dedicated instructors who make this program possible. I thought that breaking the program up into five sessions made the task less daunting. I was able to work on my publication one section at a time and allowed for feedback and suggestions for improvement. I only almost exclusively worked on the weekends. I’m also in the middle of packing my house for moving, as I just sold and bought a house, plus the stress of social distancing holidays had me on edge. However, despite it all, I was able to complete this series and submit to my journal. I was wondering how I would fill my time during this pandemic, so I’m hopeful my manuscript gets accepted, so that I gain the confidence needed to write more articles. I’m certainly interested in a myriad of management research projects.  Thank you all who willingly led a hand, so that the next generation of academic researchers can continue to engage others in the creation of new knowledge. Stay curious!

Lorraine Hover, PhD, RN (Doctoral of Philosophy in Nursing), Graduated on May 2020, Submitted the article to a peer reviewed journal on Dec 2, 2020

 It has been a goal of mine to be published and this workshop gave me the tools and the opportunity to grow into the role of "Doctor and Scholar" in an aspect which is often concentrated on for tenure and yet not really taught in school. What a marvelous opportunity to stretch my wings, gain new skills, and come away with skills I will use moving forward. I think UOPX should be congratulated on providing this workshop for doctoral graduates - it reveals that the university is dedicated to developing scholars and leaders, not simply pushing them through to a degree.

 We often speak of paradigms and shifting them. I feel I have shifted another paradigm in my thinking and processing of information. One, I feel more respect for those who publish, two, I have a great understanding of what is expected of me, not only when I write, but as a professional. Thirdly, I have grown in ways I didn't expect. I realized while I was making small progress on the actual writing of the article, I was actually accomplishing quite a bit of the "leg work" of what is needed to write - similar to conducting your literature search and reading abstracts for a few hundred articles for your dissertation - the work is vital to the overall success and yet it doesn't appear on the pages you are writing on. I have gained a greater appreciation for that background work and realized that just because the paper has only had 2 sentences added that day, does NOT mean you are being idle and slacking off on your goal. Writing is not the only part of "writing" an article, it is simply, the end product of a lot of other work that is often painstakingly tedious!

 

Mary Hanna PhD, RN, CEN (Doctoral of Philosophy in Nursing), Graduated on April 2020, Submitted the article to a peer reviewed journal on Dec 2, 2020

Writing has never been my strong point. I was terrified of the thought of formulating a manuscript to submit to a journal. Scientific writing required to complete dissertation was the most challenging writing of my career. The thought of condensing dissertation writing into a storytelling style required of a manuscript seemed nearly impossible to me. Each time our group Zoom meetings occurred I became less and less frightened and more and more energized to complete the manuscript on schedule.

This experience has given me the courage to continue on and learn to publish many more articles in peer review journals. This way of disseminating knowledge helps to make the profession of nursing scientific through the use of theory as a framework, the use of research, and the use of both theory and research into practice. The overall purpose of this exercise in publishing helps to make patient care and nursing better for both nurses and patients. I feel accomplished by submitting my manuscript for publication and I look forward to committing to the cause and taking feedback from the publishers to get my manuscript published. Thank you for this opportunity to learn and grow professionally.

 

Rebecca Sledge, Ph.D. (Doctoral of Philosophy Industrial and Organizational Psychology), Graduated on Oct 2020, Submitted the article to a peer reviewed journal on Dec 2, 2020

The DTP workshops were well put together and delivered in an easy-to-understand format by Dr. Kebritchi. I liked that the workshop was divided into multiple sessions to allow writers times to digest the information and write sections. I gained new information that helped me to draft a publication manuscript. Without the workshop, it would have been difficult to put together the manuscript. The DTP workshops should continue being offered to UPOX graduates.

 

Evelyn Houston Bell, PhD (Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing), Graduated on Nov 2019, Submitted the article to a peer reviewed journal on Dec 2, 2020

I have to admit that at times the process was a little daunting, as it was reminiscent of my dissertation proposal completion. Making the determination as to what is appropriate for a dissertation versus a journal article was a little tricky. However, as I moved closer to the development of my manuscript, I was able to breathe a little easier.  I am forever grateful for the valuable information received related to the many pieces required for a successful journal publication acceptance. The workshop meetings provided so much information, but it was always helpful to have the meeting recordings available as a reminder of the important points that were addressed.